body image · mental health

Body Image Bitches.

Yes, they exist. Use this label I want to make it a thing. It needs to be a thing.

Well this post is nothing short of a rant. Since Monday I have everyday without fail had someone comment on how ‘thin’ I am. How I’ve ‘lost weight’, how ‘tiny’ I am. How ‘I didn’t need to lose weight’. And guess who it came from? Yep, alllll women. Why do some women feel another woman’s body is her business? I don’t know. These are who I am referring to as a Body image BITCH.

This my friend is someone who most likely  is unhappy about her own weight and so feels the need to project this onto you. Yes seeing how ‘slim’ you are or how much ‘boob’ you have, or how you have nice ‘hips’ or whatever the scenario is hurts them to their rotten jealous little core. So what do they do? Make a comment to try to get you to feel bad too of course. After all, if they can’t work on bringing themselves up they might as well try and bring you down instead!

The worst part of it all is these are all people I am otherwise on friendly terms with. Whilst standing with one such ‘friend’ colleague she made the comment to me today about ‘how tiny I am’ to which I said thanks?!? ‘You must be a size 4’ ‘No I’m not’ ‘No you must be.’ Right because somewhere along the line my dress size became your business and I had to lie about it and/or even tell you it as if I’m sorry for something? So what if I was a size 4 WTF does that have to do with anyone but me??

I am not going to get into sizes here because women are beautiful whatever size they are. We talk a lot about fat shaming but I want to point out how many other people think it’s okay to call any ‘skinny’ girl (derogatory term in itself) ‘anorexic’. Why is it still okay to skinny shame?? Do they realise some people are naturally like that?

I know I have my own inner issues to deal with my weight as I still don’t want it to go up from my underweight size. But I have been eating. I have my water, my coffee with sugar, my chunky cookies, rice (lots of it) and vitamins. So fuck them.

I would never comment on someone else’s size, because quite frankly  that is disrespectful.  And they don’t need MY permission to feel beautiful as if once they reach a size or shape I’m happy with now they’re allowed to feel good about themselves. You go on ahead feeling beautiful. Whatever shape you are. Fuck these BIB’s.

2 thoughts on “Body Image Bitches.

Leave a Reply

